Copyright © 2010, All Rights Reserved
10 2010

Iran Wins Overall Mens Title at 8th World Junior Championships in Mexico

Representatives of the top five countries in terms of overall points in the mens division pose during the awards ceremony of the 8th WTF World Junior Taekwondo Championships at the High Performance Sports Center in Tijuana, Mexico on March 9, 2010. Iran clinched the overall mens title, followed by Korea, Turkey, Russia and Mexico.

Iran clinched the overall mens title by winning three gold medals, one silver medal and one bronze medal at the 8th WTF World Junior Taekwondo Championships, which were wrapped up in a great success in Tijuana, Mexico on March 9, 2010.

Korea came next with three gold medals and one bronze medal, followed by Turkey, Russia and Mexico in the mens division. In the 16-year history of the WTF World Junior Championships, it marked the first time that Korea failed to defend its overall mens title.

In the womens category, Korea defended its overall title by grabbing four golds, two silvers and one bronze. China came next with three golds, followed by Turkey, the United States and Croatia.

The four-day World Junior Championships, which took place at the Multi-Purpose Gymnasium of the High Performance Sports Center, were a great success for good reasons.

The championships, which were held in a very orderly manner, drew a total of 696 athletes from a record 97 countries. Reflecting the high popularity of taekwondo around the world, many countries broadcast the championships in both live or delayed formats.

The 1st WTF Photo Contest was held on the occasion of the championships, which featured electronic body protectors and an instant video replay system.

The Best Referee Awards of the championships went to five referees: Mr. Jose Eduardo of Aruba, Mr. Argubi Mohamed of the Netherlands, Ms. Chiu Carmen of Macau, Mr. David Coupar of Denmark, and Ms. Soo Hyun Park of Korea.

Five coaches were selected as the Best Coaches of the championships. They are Korea's Bong Suk Lee, Iran's Reza Zavavar, Mexico's Young Sun Bang, China's Dong Wan Lee, and Azerbaijan's Jung Bae Jeon.

Mexicos Cesar Roman Rodriguez, the gold medal winner in the mens -51kg weight category, was selected as the Best Male Athlete of the championships, while the Best Female Athlete honors went to Chinas Lulu Fei, the gold medal winner in the womens over 68kg division.

The Active Participation Prize was shared by Kazakhstan, Greece and Puerto Rico, while the Good Fighting Spirit Prize went to Tahiti, Nigeria and Portugal.

The final day of the World Junior Championships featured four weight divisions.

In the mens -63kg category, Irans Homayouni Amirhossein crushed Marcin Anikiej from Poland 15-3 in the final match for the gold medal. The bronze went to Canadas Shashank Bhat and Cubas Daniel Miranda Fidalgo.

In the mens -59kg category, Koreas In Chang Jeong managed to grab the gold medal as he outpointed Greeces Tzellos Kleanthis in the final match 6-5. Russias Echilov Khadzhimurad and Turkeys Yusuf Kocaman shared the bronze in the division.

In the womens -46kg division, Turkeys Kubra Cakir won the gold medal by defeating Mexicos Gallegos Vanessa 8-1 in the final match. The bronze went to Canadas Elodie Beaulieu and Germanys Nolp Sabrina.

In the womens -55kg category, Koreas Su Ji Choi outpointed Great Britains Jade Jones for the gold medal. Tunisias Ben Ali Rahma and Thailands Roeksirirat Sirada shared the bronze medal.